Planning Commission
Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is organized pursuant to Public Act 33 of 2008, as amended. The Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the City Council to serve three year terms. The commission is charged with developing the City’s Master Plan, establishing zoning districts and regulations applicable to each district covering the use of the land. It promotes land uses compatible with the City’s character, conserving property values and long-term stability of residential neighborhoods and commercial districts. It also promotes safe conditions for motorists, pedestrians and bicyclists. Under its domain, the commission limits improper use of land, and promotes use of land natural resources in a sustainable manner.

The Planning Commission meets the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7 p.m. in the City Council Chambers or other designated location. Public welcome to attend. 

The meetings will be held via video conference in compliance with the Open Meetings Act. Members of the public body and members of the public participating electronically will be considered present at the meeting and may participate as if physically present at the meeting.  Click here for meeting link information.



Special Meetings and Public Hearing Notices - Planning Commission

[posted when scheduled]


Click on the folder below for a list of the Planning Commission's regular meeting dates

Meeting Dates and Application Submission Deadlines

General Information

  • The Planning Commission meets the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month.  Public welcome to attend. 
  • Meeting dates or application submission deadlines moved due to holidays denoted with an asterisk *.
  • Applications are due by 4 p.m. on the submission deadline.
  • Submission deadlines are firm. Late submissions are deferred to a future meeting. 

NOTE:  Meeting the submission deadline does not ensure the case will be heard at the next meeting.  The City Planner will review your application, supporting documentation, and determine if it is complete. Deficient applications are deferred to the next meeting pending timely submission of required information. 

2021 Meeting Dates and Application Submission Deadlines
(Public welcome to attend.)

January 7
 
submit application by Tues., December 15

January 19
submit application by Tues., December 22
(moved for holiday closures)

February 2
submit application by Tues., January 12

February 16
submit application by Tues., January 26

March 2  
submit application by Tues., February 9

March 16
submit application by Tues., February 23

April 6
submit application by Tues., March 16

April 20
submit application by Tues., March 30

May 4 
submit application by Tues., April 13

May 18
submit application by Tues., April 27

June 1 
submit application by Tues., May 11

June 15
submit application by Tues., May 25

July 6
submit application by Tues., June 15

July 20 
submit application by Tues., June 29

August 3 
submit application by Tues., July 13 

August 17
submit application by Tues., July 27

September 7
submit application by Tues., August 17

September 21
submit application by Tues., August 31

October 5
submit application by Tues., September 14

October 19
submit application by Tues., September 28

November 2
submit application by Tues., October 12

November 16
submit application by Tues., October 26

December 7
submit application by Tues., November 16

December 21 
submit application by Tues., November 30


2022 Meeting Dates and Submission Deadlines
(Public welcome to attend.)

January 4 
submit application by Tues., December 14, 2021

January 18 
submit application by Tues., December 21, 2021 
(submission deadline moved due to holiday closures)



 

 

Applying to the Planning Commission
  • Review the meeting date and application submission schedule before applying.
  • Meeting dates and submission deadlines may be moved to accommodate holidays and newspaper publication deadlines. Follow the submission schedule posted at the Building Department and as posted on the website.
  • Follow the submission instructions found in the application. The instructions provide direction on the number of packets required, assembling your submission and the documents required at filing. Incomplete applications may be deferred to a future meeting.
  • Applicable fees found in the fee schedule Applications filed without the fee are considered incomplete.  
  • Submission deadlines are firm.
Application Review
Applications are reviewed by the City Planner to determine if they are complete.

Incomplete applications may be deferred to a future Planning Commission meeting based upon when necessary information is received.

Staff and consultant reviews are provided to the applicant by email prior to the scheduled meeting.
Meeting Information
All meetings begin at 7 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

Meetings are held at City Hall, 215 W. Main Street, Northville, Michigan, 48167, 248-449-9902, unless otherwise noted. Meeting location is noted on the Planning Commission meeting agenda

Public welcome to attend.