Voters favored absentee ballots over voting at polls
Posted on 11/05/2020
A voter checks in at Precinct 2.A record number of 4,394 voters cast a ballot in the 2020 presidential election. The majority (3,092) voted by absentee ballot while 1,302 went to the polls on Nov. 3, a beautiful fall day with sunny skies and highs in the 60’s.

Election Day turned out to be a very close contest in many races – locally as well as nationally. Voters in the City of Northville selected Joe Biden as president over Donald Trump (2,378 to 1,906 votes); Sen. Gary Peters (incumbent) over John James by a thin margin of 2,180 to 2,106; U.S. Rep. Haley Stevens (incumbent) over Eric Esshaki (by 2,169 to 2,045); Kelly Breen as State representative over Chase Turner (1,145 to 1,056) and State Rep. Matthew Koleszar (incumbent) over John Lacny by 1,061 to 940 votes.

At both polling locations – Precinct 1 at the Community Center and Precinct 2 at Amerman Elementary School – there were long lines of voters, socially distanced, when the polls opened at 7 a.m. A steady stream of voters came throughout the day, with the majority voting in the morning and evening. A poll worker at each location sprayed down voting booths in between voters and hand sanitizer was readily available.

In Precinct 1, of 2,526 registered voters, 1,455 voted by absentee ballot and 634 voted in person at the polls. See unofficial election results here.

In Precinct 2, of 2,776 registered voters, 1,637 voted by absentee ballot and 668 voted at the polls. See unofficial election results here.

Results are not yet recorded as official until they are canvassed by the county and certified by the state board of canvassers.

Voting was made possible by the work of poll workers, headed by Precinct 1 Election Chair Michelle Avallone, Precinct 2 Chair Jo Ellen Hyatt, Precinct 1 Absentee Counting Board Chair Edie Wittekindt and Precinct 2 Absentee Counting Board Chair Mike Hyatt.

Voter turnout in the City was 82.87% percent. Approximately 908 registered voters in Northville did not vote in this election.