Beautification Commission
Purpose and Composition 

The Beautification Commission is involved in various beautification projects throughout the City.  The purpose of the Beautification Commission is outlined in their Articles of Organization. 

The Commission consists of not less than 9 and not more than 18 members.  Members serve 3-year terms, and are appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of City Council.   Membership shall generally be restricted to individuals residing within a 5-mile radius of City Hall or those having business interests within the City of Northville.  Individuals with special talents advantageous to the Commission but do not meet these requirements may be appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of City Council, upon recommendation from and a two-thirds vote of the Commission membership.  Such appointees shall not constitute more than 25 percent of the total Commission membership.  

For more information about the Beautification Commission, contact Chair Diane Pittaway at 248-328-4007.

Meeting location
Northville City Hall, 215 W. Main St.
Public invited to attend

Agendas and minutes
Current minutes available on the agenda and minutes webpage
Archived minutes available here 

2023 meeting dates
Generally, the Beautification Commission meets at 8:30am, the first Monday of the month unless otherwise noted.  No meeting in Jan, Feb, Sept, Nov, Dec. 

March 6
April 3
May 1
May 8
June 5
July 10 (moved for holiday)
July 17 - awards committee meeting at 4:45pm in Town Square
August 7
August 28
October 2

Current member list
Diane Pittaway, Chair 6-30-24
Douglas Bingham 6-30-24
Gary Haas 6-30-24
Matthew Hezemy 6-30-25
Nachiko Hirato 6-30-23
Suemarie Klimek 6-30-24
Callista Milroy 6-30-24
Liliana Miyahara 6-30-24
Kyle Moilanen 6-30-23
Stephen Ott 6-30-25
Carol Pankow 6-30-25
Krista Siefert 6-30-23
Vacant 6-30-25
Vacant 6-30-25
Vacant 6-30-25
Vacant 6-30-23
Vacant 6-30-23
Vacant 6-30-23
Marilyn Price
Council Liaison

Governing documents
Articles of Organization

Click here to download program information

Beautification Commission award program

2022 list of winners

BC members and friends
Members and friends of the Beautification Commission fill the planters that decorate the downtown streets.
(photo by Liz Cezat)